Guest Reviews

Our mission is to ensure our guests experience the trip of a lifetime!
We are proud that over 99% of our guests book additional adventures with us and/or refer us to their friends and families. Read our reviews and discover what our wonderful adventurers have to say! 
82026885_10156915802966408_3020546913255555072_n_edited.jpg

"AFE Adventures is an amazing company! I had the most wonderful trip of a lifetime to Kenya with AFE just before the pandemic hit. You haven't lived until you've bounced around in a Range Rover seeing elephants, lions, zebras and giraffes just to name a few. You will see so much more than I can describe here. It's exciting and life changing. AFE is ethical travel at its best.  Thyra and David Rutter are incredible hosts, knowledgeable and so much fun to adventure with. I'm not a photographer like David, but even for a novice it's hard not to get a good photo.

Can't wait for Thailand and Cambodia!"

Jenny H- January 2020 Guest via

YELP

290086451_5506574262715802_6794794360056124900_n_edited.jpg

"This was a life-changing experience and we know much of that has to do with the fact that it was specifically with AFE.  We had no idea what to expect and were ready for anything.  Each day, each moment, was amazing and meaningful.  Everything was a new experience for us and we were extremely impressed with AFE.  We felt safe every step of the way.  We appreciate the time, research and effort that must have gone into creating this tour.  The hotels were fantastic, Fisi Camp was awesome, our guides were THE best, our schedule was expertly laid out, the activites were perfect, and the food was delicious accommodating every restriction and preference.  We met such wonderful people, starting with Thyra and David and including all our fabulous guides, drivers and hosts.  We were glad to be with a tour group that was so connected to the local community and ready to give back in any way possible.  The school trip was especially rewarding and the Maasai village was inspiring.  These types of connections really enrich the safari experience.  We have been spoiled and will always have these expections for any other tour group we join, so we guess we will just have to continue our adventures with AFE because no one else will come close!"

Beth G- June 2022

285182335_5435143939858835_8751200358679314230_n_edited.jpg

"We loved the Fisi camp for so many reasons. We loved that it was small so that we were able to get to know the staff well. Having dinner in the evenings after a long day of safaris felt like coming home to a cozy meal in your own dining room. The food exceeded our expectations by leaps and bounds--I would love to bring the cooking staff home with me! 

The Masai were such a pleasure to get to know. We really appreciated their expertise and their conscientious attentiveness to any possible need we may have. We felt very safe and comfortable. We loved visiting the school and having the opportunity to give the children supplies. We loved seeing the Masai village. Allyn’s favorite part of the trip was “meeting and getting to know the Masai.” I was so grateful we had the opportunity to experience a different and lovely culture. Meeting the Masai was one of the best parts of our trip!

We were surprised at the sheer volume and diversity of animals we saw on safari, thanks to our outstanding location and the incredible expertise of our drivers and spotters. Visiting and taking photos at the border between Kenya and Tanzania was a super fun addition. The breakfasts and lunches out on safari were outstanding as well! 

Nairobi

I can’t say enough good things about Sheldrick—the private tour was one of my favorite experiences on the trip. Loved the giraffe sanctuary. The two restaurants outside of our hotel were fabulous. Hotel Rudi was quaint with comfortable rooms, a wonderful staff, and great food! We appreciated how close Hotel Rudi was to all the excursions we went to in Nairobi. Amboseli

The hotel was comfortable and lovely, and the staff was very kind to bring extra food to our table in order to accommodate the vegans in our group. We were so glad we included this extension on our trip because we were able to add flamingos to our safari menagerie, and NOTHING can beat that cheetah cub experience! We liked visiting the marshy part of the park to see the elephants in action in the water. All of the elephants were magical.

Our drivers to and from Nairobi were fabulous! And they picked great bathroom stop locations to boot. 

Thyra and David, you couldn’t have been better. The design and execution of this trip was perfect! Allyn verbalized to me how much he really liked both of you. There aren’t two better guides out there! Thank you!"

 

Alyssa P- May 2022

241789117_4599686336737937_7400208251584441240_n_edited.jpg

I went on the Elephant Magic Safari Kenya trip Sept 2021 after postponing the trip a few times because of COVID.  Thyra and David made this truly a magical once in a lifetime trip.  They know the locals and the added extra special experiences throughout the trip.  From the private tours in Nairobi to the best guides during the Safari.  We saw the Big 5 in less than 24 hours after arriving in Masai Mara.  While they don't guarantee any animal sightings, you will have the best chance with them.  On top of the animals, we got to see Great migration of wildebeests across the Nile.  I HIGHLY recommend if you want to visit Kenya and have the best experiences to go with AFE Adventures/Travel."

MK via YELP

" I truly loved this AFE safari experience. It was an experience of a lifetime! I was so impressed and inspired by how ethical it was in all respects, from respecting the animals and the people, to the overall attitudes of Thyra and David and the guests. It was a great balance between 'roughing it' and having a comfortable, easy stay. I also felt like there was a great balance between long, rough game drives and more relaxing days. It gave you the chance to recover and head out for another adventure. The visits to the village and school were great, and it allows guests to know that they are actually contributing to something rather than just seeing the wildlife and leaving. All the various staff members, from Hotel Rudi, Ken and Marie, the Masai spotters and drivers, etc., were phenomenal. Thyra and David also did an excellent job managing the group, keeping the peace, and making the experience upbeat and fun. It was a magical experience, and I plan to travel with AFE in the future!"

Victoria G. June 2022

290016069_5506567282716500_4178068831390

"5 Star Experience

I had the best time - it was a dream come true! The people I toured with were a great bunch and I feel like have an extended family. David and Thyra Rutter have provided an immersive and fun tour to Kenya that is well-worth every penny."

Jennifer B- June 2022

286960858_5466958786677350_7416777304373

My favorite vacation ever! Magical and unique experience! I loved seeing so many beautiful animals and meeting the friendly Kenyan people. Filled me with so much joy!  I can’t wait to return!”

 

Masai guides are the coolest! Very knowledgeable and fun to be around. All of the safaris were spectacular. I like the all day drives. Definitely keep those. 

 

Fisi Camp is comfy and food is delicious. They could add some bathroom hooks for clothes and towels. Marie and Ken and their staff are very nice. Hotel Rudi was fantastic!! 

 

Amboseli Kibo Lodge is terrific! Loved the upgraded tents and delicious food. 

SWT, Giraffe Sanctuary and Blixen museum were all wonderful tours. Loved hugging the baby elephants and feeding the giraffes. Restaurants were all excellent. 

 

Overall my safari experience was a 10+

Thyra and David, thank you so much for your leadership, companionship and friendship. Our group was very special and I now have new friends to stay connected with." 

Ellen G. May 2022

287498912_5466950740011488_7606786365165570967_n.jpg

"Safari was awesome! Thoroughly enjoyed everything " 

5 Stars!!

Lori DJ June 2022

290289092_5506548296051732_6760702995607
287436786_5466959870010575_3995701978951

 "I appreciated the kindness, sensitivity and openness of Thyra and David as well as their knowledge of the animals and their closeness to the people we met especially the Masai.

  I loved ….

…going off roading, crashing through the bush only to find ourselves in the presence of a lion or cheetah hidden in the bush.

…the many moments we stopped to observe and wait and watch the animals, their behavior, interactions and rhythms: moms with babies, lions protecting their kill, cheetah cubs frolicking. Baboons jumping into the river, hippos wallowing in a secret waterhole, lions mating..all unforgettable.

…the Masai people, especially the guides, their gentle kindness in sharing their way of life in living so close to the land 

…recognition by Thyra and David of the importance of the spiritual and personal component of the safari experience. It was more than just an “Ooh” “Ahh” experience. Not just a “cookie cutter” safari but one that was created out of the people on the trip and the precious moments with the animals as they presented themselves.

…African sunrises and sunsets..magical doesn’t even begin to describe it!"

Sheila M, May, 2022

285049271_5431028246937071_1797758587666531253_n.jpg

"We liked everything about it. We attended a retirement party the evening we arrived back . Everyone at the party knows about how special this trip was and have already asked for information on signing up in the future. The personal and intimate nature of the trip, the small group of fellow travelers, the small vehicle groups with amazing access.......the Maasai people.......the Maasai guides........the Maasai village.......the staff at Rudi........the 4-5 hour car trips to Fisi and Amboseli.........the cost.........we liked EVERYTHING!!!!  An African safari has never been on my bucket list, as I envisioned it to be what the large corporations offer....and we couldn't have afforded it. A friend considering the trip wanted to know if they could fly from Nairobi to Amboseli or to Fisi camp.....that would have made experiencing Kenya impersonal and would take a lot from the trip. So yes, even the 5 hour road trips to Fisi Camp and Amboseli were on our list of what we liked about AFE Safari. Mostly we loved what you two have created with your business…..a way to make people aware and try to help you change adversities around the world a little bit at a time because that’s the only way to do it. We admire you and we’re honored to have participated in this trip."

Leslie & Dale W., May 2022

286895345_5462925573747338_1599424429509697661_n.jpg

 

"To be honest I have wanted to really give valuable feedback or write something profound but the reality is the trip was a once in a lifetime.  More magnificent and incredible then we could have imagined!  We thought it would be all or the majority plant based so were surprised when 50% of the group were meat eaters but we understand that you would not fill your trips if you required plant based eating.  We would have liked more hikes or physicality but we realized that would cut time on safaris, school and village visits, etc.  So in the end it was perfect a 5+++!!!  This is a real testament to you and David, Ken and Marie, the Masai people (Especially Sammy and the kitchen team, Allyson, Daniel, Wilson, Ole, T'mama, Tangesha, Saya, Julius, etc.), Edwin and Steven, and staff at Hotel Rudi and Duncan at Amboseli.  We have told everyone about the trip, and you both, and hopefully others will sign up and we will travel with you again." 

Christy and Craig S.

May 2022

287727106_5503622826344279_4581544793238392804_n.jpg

5++!!!! 

"The trip was like being at a club with an excellent DJ. We were eased into the rhythm of Africa in Nairobi, danced hard and fast at Fisi Camp, then given the luxury of  Amboseli, with a return to highs on safari. The transitional rides between locations gave everyone a chance to recuperate. The orchestration was impeccable! You played the crowd so well!

 

So much more to say, I loved everything especially Fisi Camp."

May 2022 Guest  K

241749757_4599684796738091_1647742013431539566_n.jpg

"5+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Life Changing!"

Linda B.

Kenya Sept, 2021

270411306_4973136742726226_538932277325365887_n.jpg

"5+ infinity. Words can never describe the feeling or experience.'

Katie M.

Kenya, December 2021

241996945_1660371724168505_4533284281905767884_n.jpg

"Highly recommend this trip. I dream about going back. I miss the animals with the best group of people."

Melissa K.

Kenya, Sept. 2021

271841222_5009371019102798_149689429365495462_n.jpg

"Best time with AFE Adventures. Can’t wait to go again and again on many trips"

Esther W. 

Kenya, January 2022

Branding

242682986_386093076421527_2772443236203345019_n.jpg

Arte for Elephants and the couple that put on these excursions, Thyra and David are next to none.

The time and patience and detail they put into every single thing we do is unmatched. They have trusted and wonderful people they work with and they truly know what they're doing when it comes to having the best vacation you could ask for. This was my first time going on a trip with a tour group and it won't be my last; in fact, I have already committed to signing up for another vacation with them to India! I can not recommend this company (but really, these people) more. They care about every single person they take and they go above and beyond to make sure your vacation is one of the best you'll ever have! A million stars and a billion thank yous, Arte for Elephants!

Dani W- Kenya 9/21

241695988_4599691046737466_1172663272973502404_n.jpg

"Just returned home from my trip to Africa. Words can't even express the amazing adventure

I had. I saw things most people will never see, a big tusker, the great migration, a cheetah hunt, visited a Maasai village and school, hiked up a mountain and so much more.

Made a new group of lifelong friends who I shared the adventure with.. Asante Sana Arte For Elephants AFE Travel Community"

Laura B.K- Kenya 9/21

Sept 2021 Group_edited.jpg

10++ STARS

 

"Arte For Elephants took me on a journey like no other. One that I never wanted to end -- and I  met lifelong friends along the way. Seeing and experiencing the Big 5 in their natural habitat replenished my soul.  I WILL be traveling with Thyra and David again...and again"

Jill Alibrandi- Kenya 9/21

242116022_4620820307957873_9059175980323207741_n_edited.jpg

"Absolutely Surreal! I’m in that truck staring at a magnificent rhino. Arte For Elephants (Thyra & David) we’re incredible hosts and now lifelong friends.

Our group of 10 came together and shared the most amazing African adventure with memories for the rest of our lives. There are no words to describe how Africa, it’s people, the beauty and animals gets in your blood."

Georgia A- Kenya 9/21

271217893_4986318818074685_7806950335769904002_n.jpg

5+ for sure

"I can’t think of a single thing that I would ask to be improved upon. Between the two of you I have never felt so taken care of. The way you two interact with everyone you come in contact with just highlights what wonderful people/humans you are.

Everyone in the ground crew, the hotel staff and the camp personnel certainly went above and beyond any service you receive in most establishments and activities.

JP and I keep telling people we talk to about the trip that the journey was without a doubt the most amazing adventure we’ve ever taken.

I have recommended your safari to people who have not even expressed and interest in a safari, just in case they do develop an interest."

Bill M- Kenya 2021

271590062_10227208891825088_6427862077290640271_n-2.jpg

"Rating 5+++

Everything was amazing and perfect!

 

All of the ground crew was exceptional from Wilfred picking us up and the airport, to the amazing hotel staff at Hotel Rudy to all of the drivers and all of the Masai who looked out for us while we slept. Saya was my favorite person to hang out with, but  It sure he is considered ground crew. However, Edwin, our driver to and in Amboseli, was amazing! He was kind, helpful, fun and knowledgeable about the animals. 

 

This trip was truly amazing. Thyra and David are amazing guests, always looking out for the group and always going the extra mile to make things extra special. Over 40 hours of safari meant seeing a lot of animals very up close and personal in their natural environment. I loved being submerged in the Masai culture and learning their ways and customs. I can’t say enough about this trip except that I WANT TO GO BACK! 

Yes, I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to experience an authentic safari experience. "

Janna D.- Kenya 2022

269764970_4954568804583020_1028781886010831635_n_edited.jpg

"For a rating I give it a solid 5. The experience was beyond my expectations and you and David made me feel so comfortable in a foreign land.

For me this was the trip of a lifetime. Kenya is a beautiful country with the nicest people I’ve ever encountered. 

Kudos to Arte For Elephants Travel. The immersive experience was like no other I’ve ever experienced. The trip to the school is something I will never forget. The visit to the village was a wonderful experience. 

The game drives on Maasai Mara were beyond amazing. 

Thank you for the amazing trip."

Lucia R. Kenya 12/21

268876658_4926980724008495_274217797280390539_n.jpg

The trip was just amazing and such a wonderful experience that I would recommend this trip to anyone! The personal touches we received from Thyra and David made me feel so comfortable traveling to this country. I am not one to travel by myself but I would definitely travel by myself if I was joining another tour with Thyra and David  and  I plan on doing so! Hotel Rudi was over the top and exceeded all expectations as did the "tents" in the Masai Mara and Amboselli. Both tents were more of a glamping experience. The food, guides, drivers, spotters and all the staff at both locations were so welcoming and helpful! Experiencing this was truly life changing after visiting the schools and local villages! I knew I was blessed before, but seeing how some cultures live today, was very eye opening! I wear one of the bracelets I purchased at the village as a reminder of how lucky I am!"

Sonia M. -Kenya 12/21

82702572_10221943291996050_7767126902283698176_o_edited.jpg

"The most amazing experience, exceeded every expectation. The people were wonderful. No words can capture the phenomenal experience I had on this trip. Thank you Thyra and David. If you are up for the adventure of a lifetime, this is the trip to take"

Stefani D- Kenya 2020

79833091_2441546942728478_6024712129754431488_o_edited.jpg

"I had a great experience. the itinerary was thought out to accommodate every interest. The Time at ENP was above and beyond my expectations. All the hotel accommodations were excellent and comfortable. The food was just amazing never hungry at any point. Do not hesitate to book this trip. EXCELLENT! "

Stacy C.- Thailand 2019

Screen Shot 2021-07-13 at 5.29.32 PM.png

"I am thrilled to tell you about my trip to Thailand. It was a dream come true! The organizers (Thyra & David) took care of every detail so I didn't have to. They designed a very thoughtful program and I experienced Thailand with zero worries, concerns or mishaps. My accommodations were beautiful and I experienced something new and authentic for ME every day of my stay." 

Elena E.- Thailand 2019

83774343_10158226326589236_3156603290985168896_o.jpg

"Everything was great. An amazing experience. Beautiful, typical and comfortable accommodations. Nice group, breathtaking sceneries. Stunning and numerous animals etc. But this couldn't have been such a unique experience without all of the Masai guides (and friends now) and the perfect organization of Thyra and David who made us feel like the best group they ever had. It was a dream come true. Even better than anything I had imagined. I wish I could repeat this experience !!!"

Flo L- Kenya 2020

82147263_2900396310000290_648981713183047680_n_edited.jpg

"There are only two words I can gather to describe this trip: Perfect and magical. I have dreamed of visiting Kenya for years and Thyra and David put together the trip of a lifetime. They are so knowledgable and the best guides I could ever imagine. The group came together and we immediately clicked. This trip was one of the most memorable and will hold a special place in my heart." 

Tiffany P- Kenya 2020

80596177_1410145315821706_63080230203005

"This trip was my first ever abroad and I really believe it set the bar high for future traveling. Thyra and David created a truly magical experience for us one that I will hold dearly in my heart. Everything was planned out so well and thoughtfully . The retreat had a beautiful flow and rhythm to it. I loved how the general theme behind everything was compassion. My heart is full 10 out of 10!! A journey with them would be impossible not to enjoy! Thank you Arte for Elephants for the journey of a lifetime!"

Amy B- Thailand 2019

145464032_10158183583903318_5906889453614388139_o_edited_edited.jpg

"Once again an amazing retreat with Arte for Elephants. This trip was so much more than I imagined. Seeing beautiful Kenya and all of the animals was a dream come true. I loved seeing the baby elephants at the Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, and the giraffes at the giraffe center and last but not least, the Masai Mara and Amboseli.I will cherish this experience in my heart forever. Thank you Thyra and David and our amazing group. Until we meet again! Asante Sana!

Sanna N- Kenya 2020

80223428_2856354294404492_6549351533241171968_n.jpg

"Exceptional organizers and tour package. Very engaging group and tour package. Superb pacing for events and reflection. Best week we've had in many a year. So much to see, much to do and time to reflect upon. Extraordinary program  a 5+ out of 5!" 

Cara and Jack 

 Thailand 2019